Thank you, my friend, for loving me.

I think people often take the love that their friends offer for granted. I know at times I have, but it’s times like these when I realize how grateful I am for my friends. Times when I feel lonely. Times when I miss being loved by someone special. Sometimes it takes feeling low, to think about the good things that you’ve got.

Some people have friends that aren’t really true friends. They are party friends, or friends that are only “useful” in certain situations. I think I’m lucky to have quite a few friends who are, in my eyes, true friends. They will be there for me when I need them, and they will love me through the times when I need it most.

Times like these, when you feel like garbage for whatever reason, you actually find out who your real friends are. The people who will drop what they are doing to make sure you are alright. Even if you haven’t be able to speak in months, the people who are really your friends will be there when you need them. It’s time like these, you might be surprised. The people who you most expect to be there, sometimes won’t be, and people who you didn’t expect to really care, might be the ones who are there for you the most. I’ve been surprised many times by certain people who have been there for me consistently.

Obviously I’m loved by my family. However, the love you get from your friends is different than the love you get from your family. You picked your friends and they picked you. It’s just different like that. And, obviously the way your friends love you is different from the way a lover would, but when you’re lacking a lover, the love that friends can offer is the next best thing. I think the love that comes from your friends is different, but at times can be equal to the love you could get from “someone special”.

Friends are the people who help you pick up the pieces.

They hold your hand through your heartbreak, and you hold their hand through their heartbreak.

They are people you can snuggle up with when you need to have someone close to you.

They listen to you complain about being hurt, even if you’ve made the same mistakes over and over again.

They hug you when you cry, and will threaten to harm whoever dare make you feel bad about yourself.

True friends wont lie to you to make you feel better, true friends, I think, will give you tough love when you need it. Even if you really don’t want to hear it.

They will form sort of “clubs” with you. Like “The Celibacy Club” (I’m not in this one, but it’s rather funny), or “The Side Viewers”, or, most recently, “The Club of Future Crazy Old Hermits”.

They make you laugh when you feel like shit.

They help you feel like you aren’t alone.

I have some extremely caring friends and I don’t know where I would be without them. Sometimes I forget how much my friends contribute to my happiness, as I think everyone does. So, try your best not to forget about the love your friends offer you while you’re out there looking for a special kind of love. Your friends offer you a special kind of love too.

Although it is different, it can still fill up your heart.

-H

**I thank ever one of you for being my friend. You all know who you are (even if you aren’t in the photos). xo

Leave a Reply

